ASU Digital Accessibility Liaisons


The Digital Accessibility Liaisons network is vital to the success of ASU's IT accessibility program. Liaisons are volunteers who help coordinate accessibility efforts, promote accessibility awareness, and monitor digital accessibility progress across the university. Each of ASU's 34 college and administrative units has at least one accessibility liaison assigned to answer questions and find information to help resolve accessibility issues when they arise.

The Digital Accessibility Liaisons program is managed by ASU's Accessibility team and is organized under the umbrella of the Information Technology Community (ITC).

Have a question about accessibility? Contact your area's Digital Accessibility Liaison.


Role and responsibilities

Digital Accessibility Liaisons act as the first point of contact for their colleges and departments and assist their units in identifying information and resources to ensure the accessibility of digital content, online courses, web sites and mobile applications.

Digital Accessibility Liaisons also:

  • Convey the importance of accessibility to others in their colleges and departments.
  • Communicate IT accessibility policies, standards, and related information.
  • Receive monthly web accessibility audit results.
  • Identify accessibility needs and work with the ASU Accessibility team to make plans to address those needs.
  • Attend monthly Digital Accessibility Liaisons meetings and interact with fellow liaisons via Slack.
  • Complete an initial training in the basics of digital accessibility and stay up to date on developments.

For IT accessibility concerns, contact your area's Accessibility Liaison or ASU's Accessibility team.


Meetings, support and training

Digital Accessibility Liaisons meet monthly to participate in continuous training, keep up to date with accessibility news and information, and share issues and solutions. Meetings are held online via Zoom. To be added to the meeting series, contact ASU's Accessibility team.

Information and support for ASU's Digital Accessibility Liaisons, including meeting times and agendas, are communicated via the #a11y-liaisons Slack channel. To join the channel, contact ASU's Accessibility team.

Initial training

Initial training is provided for all new Accessibility Liaisons. Each liaison is expected to take 6-8 hours of introductory accessibility training, based on their role at ASU. In addition, liaisons must attend monthly meetings to stay updated on training, news, and technical and legal changes.


Become a liaison

Liaisons are volunteers who want to learn about and help promote digital accessibility at ASU.

Membership in the Digital Accessibility Liaisons network is open to all ASU faculty and staff, although it is recommended that candidates are comfortable with common technology used at the university (MS Office, Adobe PDFs, Canvas) and have a basic understanding of HTML.

Liaisons also must be willing to assist colleagues and share knowledge about digital accessibility with their peers, departments, and schools. Many units request that liaisons are approved by their Distributed Technology (DT) Lead. Please check with your DT Lead before completing the application.

To join the liaison network, please fill out the volunteer form.

If you'd rather participate in the liaisons without becoming an official volunteer, you can request to be added to the group's DL and monthly calendar meeting series. You do not have to be a liaison to attend meetings and join the conversation.

For more information on ASU's Digital Accessibility Liaisons, contact ASU's Accessibility team.


List of Accessibility Liaisons

The Information Technology Community (ITC) is composed of representatives from all academic and administrative units at ASU, including Distributed Technology (DT) Leads.

If your area does not yet have an Accessibility Liaison, please email the DT Lead from your area to volunteer as an Accessibility Liaison or fill out this form to volunteer.

Dept ID Units DT Leads Digital Accessibility Liaisons
A0101    Executive Administration Martin McAllister  
A0104 SrVP & Sec for the University Martin McAllister -
A0106 Enterprise Brand Strategy and Management Paul Emerson Ashley Bates
Ebunoluwa Omiwole
Nevine Khan
A0109 Learning Enterprise (Office of SrVP for Strategy) Martin McAllister Alejandra Dashe
Sean Netzel
B0101 Executive Vice President and University Provost Gemma Garcia Alisha Bach
Mindy Gant
B0119 Enrollment Services -

Tanya Amos
Karime Arreguin
Tabia Harper

B0501 Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts Zachary Shipp Michael Kennedy
Maritza Maurer
B1201 Barrett, the Honors College Jodi Menees Scott Pennelly
B1301 Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering Denise Felsenthal Nathan Deneau
Dustin Hampton
Amy Janiczek
Steve Ryan
B1501 University Libraries Jeremey Kurtz Charisa Deremiah
Karen Grondin
Jordyn Kush
B1601 W. P. Carey School of Business Robin Gonzalez Adam Henry
B1701 The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Kevin Beyer Greg Farneth
Kena Ray
Matthew Wandler
B1901 Graduate College Brian Mattson Han Sophia Segura
B2101 Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law Edward Garcia Mari Bigler
B5001 School for the Future of Innovation in Society Lori Hidinger Anna Reid
B6001 College of Integrative Science and Arts Christopher Baca Theresa Cordon
C0101 Media Relations and Strategic Communications Martin McAllister -
D0101 Business and Finance James Nichols Eutopia Johnson
Elaine Rettger
Melvin Sappington
Ryan Schmidt
E0101 Knowledge Enterprise Timothy Remington Timothy Remington
Matthew Schultz
G0601 Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College Kelly Morris

Sara Barber
Daniel Brasic
Ruth Dempsey
Gulnora Isaeva
Samantha Francois
Angela Stephens
Robert Stoll

G0901 New College of Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences Erika Yoshimura Dr. Anna Cunningham
Dr. Steven Hart
G1001 Thunderbird School of Global Management Bronwyn Beabeau -
J0101 University Athletics - -
L0101 Educational Outreach and Student Services Kamala Avancha Kamala Avancha
Santosh Kumbera
B6001 University College Qa'ed Mai Joshua Bennett
Melecio Flores
Raquel Fong
Tami Lopez
M0601 Edson College of Nursing and Health Innovation Robert Rice Jinnette Senecal
M0701 Watts College of Public Service and Community Solutions Jacob Tenney Andrea Koesters
Mary Mathis Burnett
Linda Obele
M0901 College of Health Solutions Henry Barto Tricia Bawn
M1001 Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication Theodore Sokol Nic Lindh
N0101 Office of General Counsel Martin McAllister -
R0101 EdPlus at ASU Matt Rhoton

Laura Carrigan
E-Lu Chen
Megan Funkhouser
Santiago Gea
Mike Hower
Matt LaMonica
Elizabeth Lee
Lauren Permoda
Ramya Rao
Jennifer Rode

U0101 Enterprise Technology Dawnyce Schutz

Rachel Clark
Nilo Exar
Christine Gagne
Mia Logic
Sheri Myrick
David Ornelas
Tapati Sen
Larisa Slacke

V0101 ASU Gammage/Cultural Affairs Scott Guess -
#N/A ASU Enterprise Partners Stephanie Leach Renae Hintze
#N/A ASU Global Launch -

Joseph Axel
Wanda Huber
Iryna Kovalenko
Melanie Sprout